About me

Hi there! I am Lukas May!
I am a freelancing software engineer from Karlsruhe, Germany! I love building great products with great teams!
Most important to me is incorporating ideas and domain knowledge of the experts I am building software for. To achieve this I like to use modern methodologies such as Domain Driven Design or Design Thinking to build upon a structured approach. Having extensive shared knowledge about the problem at hand is the key to building adequate solutions!
I am very focused on building products with appropriate technologies that provide a performant, lag-free and pleasant user-experience.
In my free time, I am mostly outdoors riding bikes, camping, climbing or hiking.

Work experience

Product Developer

DSC Software AG
2014-2020
Design and implementation of web-based products to complement the existing product landscape. Definition of requirements by organizing and moderating workshops using Domain-Driven-Design methodology. Design of user interfaces with paper-prototyping, wireframe tools and detailed design tools. Definition of web-service interfaces using OpenAPI. Development of detailed technical concepts and implementation of several front-end as well as back-end applications. Setup of continuous integration / deployment pipelines for automatic deployment of the solutions to Kubernetes. Consulting of clients for customization and implementation of the solutions.

Board Member (CFO)

Pioniergarage e.V.
2015 - 2016
Management of the finances as CFO of a university group focused on innovation and development of the startup culture in Karlsruhe. Redesign of the web appearance as well as the official templates of the organization to align the corporate identity. Organization and moderation of several weekly meetings including invitation and introduction of guest speakers. Organization of creative sessions for strategy development and for innovative idea generation. Introduction of a web-based knowledge management tool.

Engineering & Management

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
2014 - 2017
Bachelor of applied science at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Focused on Entrepreneurship, Software Engineering, Service Management and Web Application Development.

Technical experience

Methodology

Domain-Driven-Design, Design Thinking, UX Design, responsive design, Agile development, Test-Driven-Development, API-first development

Technologies

OpenAPI, GraphQL, Spring Boot, React, AngularJS, RxJS, Redux, Styled Components, NodeJS, ExpressJS, Elasticsearch, PostgreSQL, MySQL, OSGI, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark

Tools

Kubernetes, Docker, Gitlab, Sentry, Kibana, SQL, SAP DMS, Linux, Git

Languages

Java, TypeScript, Rust, Go, Kotlin, ABAP, Python, Shell, Scala, SQL

Über mich

Hallo! Ich bin Lukas May!
Ich bin ein freiberuflicher Softwareproduktentwickler aus Karlsruhe, Deutschland! Ich liebe es, großartige Produkte mit großartigen Teams zu entwickeln!
Das Wichtigste für mich ist es, die Ideen und das Domänenwissen der Experten, für die ich Software entwickle, mit einzubeziehen. Um dies zu erreichen, verwende ich gerne moderne Methoden wie Domain Driven Design oder Design Thinking, um auf einem strukturierten Ansatz aufzubauen. Umfassendes geteiltes Wissen über das vorliegende Problem ist der Schlüssel zum Aufbau adäquater Lösungen!
Ich konzentriere mich sehr darauf, Produkte mit geeigneten Technologien zu bauen, die eine performante, verzögerungsfreie und angenehme Benutzererfahrung bieten.
In meiner Freizeit bin ich meistens draußen, fahre Fahrrad, zelte, klettere oder wandere.

Berufliche Erfahrung

Softwareentwickler

Toptal
2020-
Qualifizierte als Softwareentwickler für das exklusive globale Netzwerk an Spitzentalenten. Unterstützte Klienten dabei nicht nur exzellente technische Lösungen zu schaffen, sondern auch den Problembereich im Detail zu verstehen und Lösungen zu entwickeln, die den Anwendern bestmöglich dienen (https://www.toptal.com/resume/lukas-may)

Produktentwickler

DSC Software AG
2014-2020
Konzeption und Umsetzung webbasierter Produkte zur Ergänzung der bestehenden Produktlandschaft. Erfassen von Anforderungen durch Organisation und Moderation von Workshops unter Verwendung der Domain-Driven-Design Methodik. Entwerfen von Benutzeroberflächen mit Paper-Prototyping, Wireframe-Tools und Erstellung detaillierter Mockups in Sketch / Adobe XD. Definition von Web-Service-Schnittstellen unter Verwendung von OpenAPI. Entwicklung detaillierter technische Konzepte und Implementierung mehrerer Front-End- sowie Back-End-Anwendungen. Konfiguration von Continuous Integration / Deployment Pipelines für die automatische Bereitstellung der Lösungen auf Kubernetes. Beratung von Kunden zur Anpassung und Implementierung der Lösungen.

Board Member (CFO)

Pioniergarage e.V.
2015 - 2016
Verwaltung der Finanzen als CFO einer Universitätsgruppe, die sich auf Innovation und Entwicklung der Gründungskultur in Karlsruhe konzentrierte. Neugestaltung des Webauftritts sowie der offiziellen Vorlagen zur Vereinheitlichung der Corporate Identity. Organisation und Moderation mehrerer wöchentliche Treffen einschließlich Einladung und Vorstellung von Gastrednern. Organisation von Kreativsitzungen zur Strategieentwicklung sowie zur Generierung innovativer Ideen. Einführung eines webbasiertes Wissensmanagementsystems.

Engineering & Management

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
2014 - 2017
Bachelor of Applied Science am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Schwerpunkte: Entrepreneurship, Software Engineering, Service Management und Entwicklung von Webanwendungen.

Technische Erfahrung

Methodik

Domain-Driven-Design, Design Thinking, UX Design, responsive design, Agile development, Test-Driven-Development, API-first development

Technologien

OpenAPI, GraphQL, Spring Boot, React, AngularJS, RxJS, Redux, Styled Components, NodeJS, ExpressJS, Elasticsearch, PostgreSQL, MySQL, OSGI, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark

Werkzeuge

Kubernetes, Docker, Gitlab, Sentry, Kibana, SQL, SAP DMS, Linux, Git

Sprachen

Java, TypeScript, Rust, Go, Kotlin, ABAP, Python, Shell, Scala, SQL